When you’re new in the gym please don’t…………..

When you’re new in the gym please don’t hang your head or feel out of place.  I noticed a new person working out shyly when  I was at the gym on Monday night. I could see that they were intimidated by the gym rats. I wanted to go over and say “don’t give up!”. We were all there at one time, and the truth is, that we are all there to improve our body and mind. As a self professed gym rat I  want  you to know that it is such a great step that you have taken for your health. Despite what a few people say most of us are excited for you and want you to stick with it. So welcome to the club and let’s all improve our health at our own pace.

Standard

27 thoughts on “When you’re new in the gym please don’t…………..

  1. This is so refreshing. One reason I refuse to go to the gym is because I am terribly intimidated by the “gym rats”. I don’t want to feel like people are staring or making fun of me as I try to work out. But this makes me almost want to give it a shot. 🙂

  2. Even though it has been years I still remember the first time walking in and then once I mastered the cardio, awkwardly trying the weights and the classes. Now the gym feels like a second home! Great Post!

  3. Love to hear this! I’ve quit two gyms cause I didn’t feel “in shape enough” to work out there. Now I have a gym I love and it’s great. 🙂

  4. I was very intimidated the first time I went to a gym. The rats at the local gym were quite rude and they were communicating with each other by shouting so that everybody could hear them. It was very annoying. This made me want to not go, but I was hooked on working out too much to quit. I put my headphones on instead and sticked to training.

  5. I watch women walk past the weight room every day to spend an hour on a cardio machine. When one of them wanders into the weight room, I smile, introduce myself, and welcome them. I always hope they will come back again and again.

  6. I agree! I was so nervous when I started going to my gym but everyone there has been so nice. I have been working with a personal trainer for the last few months and had a couple complete strangers come up and tell me how great of a job I was doing. Felt amazing! One should ever get discouraged, most people are nicer than you realize.

  7. This is part of the reason I don’t go to the gym and work out at home instead. The down side to working out at home is there is much less opportunity for encouragement by others

  8. Oh I know that feeling. I have suffered from it. A kind friend started to go along with me to the gym as he knew I am trying to make a change. I am getting a lot better. You know it only takes one time, one encouraging word, one blog post. Thanks. 🙂

  9. Fattie no more says:

    It’s the main reason I don’t go to the gym and train with a trainer at her studio. It’s so intimidating and especially when you are obese:(

Leave a Reply

