What a tough day to have to follow my own……..

Well today was a tough day to have to follow my own advice. When I got to the gym my legs felt like sludge . I am not sure if it was a result of a hard workout on Monday or just a mindset. I started on the elyptical and after 1minute I was ready to give up and start my weights early. Then I remembered the advice I posted on here a few weeks ago. It is where I said give it 4 minutes and if you are still tired you can quit. I continued on and about 3 minutes into the run I caught my second wind. I finished my run on a high and ended with a great lifting circuit. So my suggestion is when you are tired give it 4 minutes. It can make the difference between success and failure

Standard

22 thoughts on “What a tough day to have to follow my own……..

  1. Fattie no more says:

    Well done:) Those are the ones that matter the most…the ones where we push through when we just don’t feel like it. Mind over matter.

  2. I didn’t read your previous post, but I know what you mean.
    In my routine I spend 30 minutes on the bike, and 30 minutes on the treadmill. Invariably if the bike is the second 30 minutes, I want to give up on it early. I always have on headphones, so my thing is to get through 2 songs. By then I have hit my stride and can go the distance.
    Good advice!

  3. I agree totally I was at the gym on Saturday and really didn’t feel like going by 5 minutes in I felt great and actually added 10 minutes to my routine

  4. Great advice. I exercise by walking and lately have been grieving the death of a friend. I almost never feel like walking or doing much of anything. But once I start walking I kick into gear and feel so much better!

  5. I remember talking to a friend once who told me he had an eliptical at home and did 60-90 minutes on it in front of the television every night. I asked him how on earth he can do that. He said the first five minutes are always the worst and after that, it doesn’t seem hard anymore.

Leave a Reply

