You have to walk the length of a football field after just eating one what ?

Did you know that you have to walk the length of a football field to burn the calories from just one M&M ? It’s not that I am starting a campaign against M&M’s ( since they are one of my favorites ) but it does put things in perspective. I try and remember this if I am going to splurge on some empty calories. It’s not that I wont allow myself a treat. It just keeps me from fooling myself, that I can burn off that many calories in the gym at one time. What strategy do you use before a big caloric splurge?

Standard

11 thoughts on “You have to walk the length of a football field after just eating one what ?

  1. I look at the calories on the choc wrapper, figure which hill it’s going to take, or which route will burn the calories listed +100 more and decide from there what I feel up to… if I’m ROCKING the day, it’s a Mars Bar and Pukeathon Hill or if it’s just a ‘nibble day’ it’s a Kit Kat and that quick 3km round the reservoir 🙂
    In my book it’s a win win, cos I get a cheat and a work out…

  2. I am finding that now I look at the calories and work out how long I’ll need in the gym to burn it up – 90% of the time its just not worth it

  3. I try to bank some exercise both before and after so if we have a social weekend where I know I may have a glass or two of wine and perhaps a dessert I do an extra half an hour at the gym for a total work out 500 calories on the Friday before and the same on the Monday morning it seems to work as I have kept my weight steady for 5 years now!

Leave a Reply

